2 Doods, 1 Gun, 3 Nights, 5 Pigs

Bakester

LSB Active Member
SUS VENATOR CLUB
LoneStarBoars Supporter
The last time my brother in law came out to hunt was two years ago. I was a noob pig hunter and actually had not even killed a pig yet. It was January and VERY cold. Our hunting at that time was limited to sitting in blinds over feeders all night with our standard scopes and green flashlights waiting for pigs that would never show up. For the trip I did manage to take one shot at a lone boar at dusk but whiffed. Other than that we were skunked.

Fast forward to now and its a much different story. #1, there are a lot more pigs than there was two years ago and 2, while still no expert, I have a whole lot more experience than I did and 3, THERMAL scope. He didn't want to rent a scope so we would share my gun.

We ended up with 5 kills (2 for me and 3 for him) and several thuds that ran off. BIL had a knee problem that limited his stalking ability so we were mostly just shooting from the road.

This first video, we were driving down the road with the gun out the front of the wheeler when BIL yells STOP! We were approaching my usual turnout so I had slowed anyway but BIL now whispers that there is a pig behind a tree almost directly in front of us. BIL has not experienced shooting a pig so rather than keep an eye on him after he shoots, he hands me the gun so I can witness his handiwork. Anyway great shot and good sized pig.

This second video, I had been watching this sounder come out of the trees and cross this field since October. I had been out about once a month since then and had seen them every time at just after sunset. I was just not able to get close enough for a good shot. Our third night out, we decide to get to our spot early. We had seen them come out at 6:50 the first night so at 6pm we are sitting on the well pad waiting. Like clockwork, here they come and they are heading in a direction that will bring them much closer than they have been in the past.